Inventor of the Year

James Schwiegerling, Ph.D.

College of Optical Sciences

UArizona Optical Sciences Professor Jim Schwiegerling has designed a trifocal intraocular lens lenses as a replacement lens for cataract patients. The new lenses allow for mid-range vision, and may eliminate the need for glasses or contacts for some, and have been implanted in over 500,000 patients -- including the inventor himself.

Startup of the year


Joe Valacich, Ph.D. & Jeff Jenkins, Ph.D.

Started by Professor of MIS Joe Valacich and his former student Jeff Jenkins, now at BYU, startup Neuro-ID is a rising star in the world of financial technology and innovation or “fintech.” Founded in 2015, the company has gone on to raise funding, improve and expand its offerings, and expand its customer base. Through its many successful partnerships, the company’s technologies now touch millions of customers.

Campus Collaboration

Carol Stewart

Tech Parks Arizona

Carol Stewart, a long-standing authority on research parks, is the Associate Vice President for Tech Parks Arizona at the University of Arizona. Carol Stewart leads the UA Tech Park at Rita Road and is developing the UA Tech Park at The Bridges.

David N. Allen Award for Leadership & Vision

Fletcher McCusker

UA Venture Capital

Fletcher McCusker, UArizona alumnus and serial entrepreneur, founded startup SinfoniaRx with Michael Deich, successfully exited the company and started UAVenture Capital, focused on funding new university technology companies.

Student Inventor of the Year

Vinodh Subramanian

Vinodh Subramanian developed a system to help mitigate no-shows for healthcare appointments. The technology has been licensed to startup Hipokratiz LLC to bring it to the market.